Report Tide!

So the other day I played this game. It was my first ever public Captains mode game. It did not go well.

I was playing with my friend Brother Kane, who is a much better player than me (I think 3.7k MMR). Accordingly we had a really mismatched group and I was the most inexperienced player by quite a long way – certainly if you look at the games played of the other team you can see I have played less.

Our Ember Spirit was the captain, and I asked for a strength support in the hard lane, such as Tide, which I got. He then, having said we were going to dual lane, picked a line up that (he said) required an aggressive tri lane in the hard lane, with him soloing the long lane as Ember Spirit (I think he simply forgot and picked two mid heroes.

So Void, Dazzle and Tide played an aggressive tri lane against Skywrath, Omni and Mirana, with Viper coming to gank us every 2 minutes from the mid lane – basically we were teamfighting for the whole game. I should say that this was my first ever experience of an aggressive tri lane, and so it went about as well as expected. We started the game off by getting a few kills, but after a while Viper started to come and gank us and it went bad very quickly.

After a couple of minutes of that I got a “Report Tide” in all chat from the Void.

I was really upset by that – I have never understood the idea of reporting players for playing badly but it was the first time it had happened to me.

Yes someone in your game might be playing badly, but that’s probably for a reason – such as that the matchmaker put him in a game above his skill level, or he’s picked an unfamiliar hero, or he’s just had a bad start and is struggling to get back into the game. None of those things are worth a report, and all could be addressed by being more positive and talking over chat.

Looking at the stats for the game, I didn’t do too badly – I did better than Dazzle, and not much worse than Ember Spirit. Void only got so many kills because of my Ravages and because I don’t kill steal when fighting with a carry – I always let them get the last hit if I can.

Reporting a team mate for playing badly, or asking someone else to, is about as bad as it gets in Dota. I actually think that it almost represents communication abuse in itself. As for me, it gets you an instant mute. If you are an arse about it I’ll turn off map pinging too via console commands. Courtesy of RPS poster “Ishy”:

dota_minimap_ping_duration 0″ (Pings are not shown on the minimap, so you only see them if they’re where you’re looking

“bind “KP_1″ bindtoggle snd_setmixer ping vol “0.0 0.3″” (binds keypad 1 to toggle the ping sound on or off)

I prefer to leave it off all the time (snd_setmixer ping vol 0.0). I also immediately mute all players at the start of a match and have voice chat permanently disabled (voice_enable 0), not just muted. I do just fine, and the game is far more pleasant.

So I went about my business and we lost, and I picked myself up and played again.

I was Nightstalker in an All Random game.

– my first All Random game

– my first “High Skill” game

– my first game as Nightstalker

– we won and I wrecked face.

Much better!

 

Leave a Reply

